The year of the discovery

El año del descubrimiento


Spain / Switzerland | 2020 | DCP | Color  | 200 min | Luis López Carrasco

TUESDAY 6 | CINETECA NACIONAL SALA 3 | 15:30 HRS. | 200 MIN.          


Director: Luis López Carrasco
Screenplay: Luis López Carrasco, Raúl Liarte
Producer: Luis Ferrón Ferri, David Epiney
Cinematography: Sara Gallego
Editing: Sergio Jiménez
Sound: Alberto Carlassare
Production Company: Lacima Producciones, Alina Film


Neighbors, youngsters and unemployed workers chat inside a bar between cigarettes, breakfasts and snacks. They remember unusual dreams, share job stories and plan future projects. The bar is located in the city of Cartagena, in the southeast of Spain. As the day goes on, the riots from the industrial crisis of 1992 are heard more and more closely. In 1992 in Spain the Barcelona Olympic Games and the Seville Expo were held, linked to the celebration of the 5th Centenary of the Discovery of America. The country is presented to the international community as a modern, developed and dynamic country. Meanwhile in Cartagena, the protests due to the crisis became increasingly violent and would result in a mass uprising that culminated in the burning of the parliament of the Autonomous Community.


LUIS LÓPEZ CARRASCO (Murcia, Spain, 1981) is a filmmaker and writer. In 2008 he co-founded Los Hijos, an experimental cinema and documentary collective. His work has been shown in numerous international film festivals and contemporary art centres such as the Museo Nacional Reina Sofía, Guggenheim Museum, Centre Georges Pompidou or ICA London. Their first feature-length film, “Los materiales”, was awarded the Jean Vigo Prize for Best Direction (Punto de Vista International Film Festival 2010) and International Jury’s Special Mention (FiD Marseille 2010). “El Futuro”, his first solo film, premiered at the Locarno International Film Festival in 2013, screened in more than fifty international festivals and was awarded in BAFICI 2014, Lima Independiente 2014, Uruguay Winter Festival 2014 and IBAFF 2014.

International Film Festival Rotterdam –Official Selection– 2020, The Netherlands
Festival de Cine de Sevilla –Official Selection– 2020, Spain

Cinéma du Réel –Grand Prix– 2020, France
Thessaloniki Documentary Festival –Golden Alexander Film Forward Award– 2020, Greece
Jeonju International Film Festival –Special Jury Prize– 2020, South Korea




Supported by: